Missouri Birth and Death Certificates may be obtained at Audrain County Health Department.
We offer same day printing of certified certificates for individuals born in Missouri.
Guidelines for obtaining a Birth Certificate:
•Must be born in the State of Missouri.
•For newborns, please allow 4 weeks for processing before applying for the record.
•Must have photo ID
Guidelines for obtaining a Death Certificate:
•Death must have taken place in the State of Missouri.
•Must have photo ID
To help protect against identity theft, identification is required such as a driver's license, passport,
or school, work or military identification when applying for a record.
Alternate Forms of Identification Accepted
(If no photo ID is available then you must provide 2 of any of the following forms)
1. Current letter from government or social agency with your name and address on it.
2. Social security numbers must match.
3. Social Security card or Social Security numident print out (print out of applicant’s Social Security account of activities.)
4. Court certified adoption papers that includes adopted parent(s) name.
5. Official certified deeds or title to property with your name on it.
6. Certificate of vehicle title or registration documents with your name on them.
7. Proof of Auto Insurance with your name on it.
8. Insurance policy with your name on it (health, home, life, etc.).
9. Medicaid/Medicare document or identification card with your name on it.
10. A Payroll Stub that includes the name and Social Security number of applicant (cannot be handwritten stubs).
11. Military discharge document (DD-214).
12. Cancelled duplicate check (must show name, address, signature, and name of institution).
13. Utility bills which show name and address of applicant (water, gas, electric, phone).
14. Shelter name band (including name of shelter).
Other individuals qualified to receive a record such as parent, child, sibling, grandparent, grandchildren, guardian, foster
parent, aunt, or uncle (no cousins, boyfriend/girlfriend, fiancé) may request a vital record for a qualified individual that does
not have identification, but they too must show identification.
The application for obtaining a copy of a vital record requires applicants to explain their relationship
to the person named on the record. Obtaining a record illegally is a class D felony.
Effective August 28, 2020, death certificates will be available for $14.00 for the first copy and
$11.00 each for each additional copy for the same person, in the same visit.
To request a copy of a vital record in person or by mail, the following forms can be used.
If an application is being mailed, the completed form must be notarized and mailed to:
Audrain County Health Department
1130 South Elmwood
Mexico, MO 65265
Application for copy of Birth or Death Certification.
Missouri Birth and Death Certificates:
|Audrain County Health Department
Public Health: Better Health, Better Missouri.